Washington Files🔍 Search

People › State House

Cindy Ryu

Data last updated: F-1 statements filed through Oct 13, 2026 · contributions through Oct 14, 2026 · lobbyist reports through Sep 30, 2026 (read Oct 14, 2026)

State Representative, Legislative District 32, Position 1

Running in 2026: State Representative, District 32, Position 1 (on the ballot) · State Senator, District 32 (In the general)

Statements of financial affairs (F-1)

PeriodFiledWhat it lists
2025-01-01 – 2025-12-31
State Representative, Legislative District 32
2026-01-224 income, 11 accounts, 3 businesses, 3 real estate, 4 gifts
2024-01-01 – 2025-01-12
State Representative, Legislative District 32
2025-02-264 income, 11 accounts, 3 businesses, 3 real estate, 1 creditors, 9 gifts

Findings

Worth a look Lobbying · the statement

A $137.38 lobbyist-paid meal on August 5, 2025 isn't on their 2025 F-1

GORDON THOMAS HONEYWELL GOV AFFAIRS reported paying $137.38 for them at NCSL Washington State Night Dinner (Bar Volpe - Boston, MA) for GORDON THOMAS HONEYWELL GOV AFFAIRS. Their statement for 2025 lists no meal or gift on or near that date from that employer or lobbyist.

What to check
  • Whether the statement lists it under another name.
  • Whether an exemption in the Ethics Act applies, such as food at an event sponsored by a civic, charitable, governmental or community organization (RCW 42.52.150(4)).
  • Whether the legislator attended (lobbyists list who was there as they recorded it).
  • The lobbyist's report, linked below.

The lobbyist's report

Rule: Lobbyist-paid meal over $100 not on the F-1
“Gifts in the form of food and beverage that exceed $100 on a single occasion shall be reported as provided in Title 29B RCW.”RCW 42.52.150(7) ✓ quoted from the saved copy · how this rule works

Context Gifts and meals · the statement

Listed $16,790 in meals, travel or seminars from 6 sources

The statement lists 9 items; the largest source is Aspen Institute Germany ($5,700). These are the kinds of gifts the F-1 asks for: meals over $100, and travel or seminar costs paid by an organization, which the $100 gift limit doesn't cover.

What to check
  • Who the sources are, and whether any has business before the official's agency or body.
  • For state officials: whether a source also appears on lobbyist reports.
Rule: Meals, travel and seminars accepted
“(l) A list of each occasion, specifying date, donor, and amount, at which food and beverage in excess of $100 was accepted under RCW 42.52.150 (7); (m) A list of each occasion, specifying date, donor, and amount, at which items specified in RCW 42.52.150 (1)(c) (iv) and (vi) were accepted;”RCW 29B.55.030(1)(l), (m) ✓ quoted from the saved copy · how this rule works

Context Gifts and meals · the statement

Listed $5,966 in meals, travel or seminars from 4 sources

The statement lists 4 items; the largest source is Overseas Koreans Foundation (OKF) ($3,000). These are the kinds of gifts the F-1 asks for: meals over $100, and travel or seminar costs paid by an organization, which the $100 gift limit doesn't cover.

What to check
  • Who the sources are, and whether any has business before the official's agency or body.
  • For state officials: whether a source also appears on lobbyist reports.
Rule: Meals, travel and seminars accepted
“(l) A list of each occasion, specifying date, donor, and amount, at which food and beverage in excess of $100 was accepted under RCW 42.52.150 (7); (m) A list of each occasion, specifying date, donor, and amount, at which items specified in RCW 42.52.150 (1)(c) (iv) and (vi) were accepted;”RCW 29B.55.030(1)(l), (m) ✓ quoted from the saved copy · how this rule works

In the Legislature

Bills they introduced as prime sponsor 49

ESHB 1187 Delayed ambulance bills 2025-26Law (C 126 L 26)
SHB 1205 Forged digital likeness 2025-26Law (C 51 L 25)
HB 1006 Service contracts 2025-26Law (C 50 L 25)
SHB 1023 Cosmetology compact 2025-26Law (C 238 L 25)
HB 1109 Public facilities districts 2025-26Law (C 302 L 25)
EHB 1052 Hate crime offense 2025-26Law (C 249 L 25)
SHB 2157 High-risk AI 2025-26House Rules "X" file.
SHB 2087 Travel insurance 2025-26Referred to Appropriations.
SHB 1161 Veteran employability 2025-26By resolution, reintroduced and retained in present status.
HB 1005 Prearrang. funeral services 2025-26House Rules "X" file.
HB 1017 Kimchi day 2025-26By resolution, reintroduced and retained in present status.
SHB 1360 Quantum economic development 2025-26By resolution, reintroduced and retained in present status.
HB 1441 Broadband/repair and replace 2025-26By resolution, reintroduced and retained in present status.
SHB 1595 Economic development plan 2025-26By resolution, reintroduced and retained in present status.
HB 1635 Consumer cooperative boards 2025-26By resolution, reintroduced and retained in present status.
HB 2193 Mortgage lending fraud acc. 2025-26First reading, referred to Appropriations.
HB 2213 Metal property 2025-26First reading, referred to Consumer Protection & Business.
HB 2256 Unauthorized UCC filings 2025-26First reading, referred to Civil Rights & Judiciary.
SHB 2640 Unauthorized UCC filings 2025-26Referred to Rules 2 Review.
HR 4653 Kimchi day 2025-26Adopted.
HR 4680 Domestic maritime industry 2025-26Adopted.
HR 4696 Kimchi day 2025-26Adopted.
HR 4705 Mexico & Canada/economic tie 2025-26Adopted.
ESHB 2153 Catalytic converter theft 2023-24Law (C 301 L 24)
HB 1017 Cosmetologists, etc/licenses 2023-24Law (C 55 L 23)

Final passage votes on the most-lobbied bills

BillVoteLobbying employers
ESSB 5167 Operating budget
House, Apr 27, 2025
Yea93
ESSB 5167 Operating budget
House, Mar 31, 2025
Yea93
ESSB 5998 Operating budget, supp.
House, Mar 12, 2026
Yea57
ESSB 5998 Operating budget, supp.
House, Feb 28, 2026
Yea57
E2SSB 5284 Solid waste management
House, Apr 14, 2025
Yea52
SSB 5195 Capital budget
House, Apr 27, 2025
Yea50
ESSB 6346 Tax on millionaires
House, Mar 9, 2026
Yea46
EHB 1217 Residential tenants
House, Apr 27, 2025
Yea42
EHB 1217 Residential tenants
House, Mar 10, 2025
Yea42
ESHB 2081 Business and occupation tax
House, Apr 22, 2025
Yea38
ESHB 2081 Business and occupation tax
House, Apr 22, 2025
Yea38
ESSB 5814 Excise taxes
House, Apr 23, 2025
Yea34
E2SSB 5981 340B drug pricing program
House, Mar 6, 2026
Yea30
ESSB 5041 Unemp ins/strikes & lockouts
House, Apr 25, 2025
Yea28
ESSB 5041 Unemp ins/strikes & lockouts
House, Apr 12, 2025
Yea28
SSB 6003 Capital budget, supplemental
House, Mar 12, 2026
Yea25
2SHB 2105 Immigrant workers
House, Mar 11, 2026
Yea24
2SHB 2105 Immigrant workers
House, Feb 13, 2026
Yea24
E2SHB 1903 Low-income energy assistance
House, Mar 11, 2026
Yea23
ESHB 2266 Supportive & emerg. housing
House, Mar 9, 2026
Yea23
ESHB 2266 Supportive & emerg. housing
House, Feb 16, 2026
Yea23
E2SHB 1903 Low-income energy assistance
House, Feb 14, 2026
Yea23
ESSB 5794 Tax preferences
House, Apr 23, 2025
Yea22
ESHB 1155 Noncompetition agreements
House, Mar 9, 2026
Yea20
ESSB 6002 Driver privacy
House, Mar 5, 2026
Yea20

Lobbyist-paid meals and events 26

Where a lobbyist's monthly report lists them among the people a lobbyist or employer paid for. A dinner several employers split appears once for each employer. Shares are shown when the report states them.

DatePaid byOccasionTheir share
2026-07-28GORDON THOMAS HONEYWELL GOV AFFAIRS
reported by GORDON THOMAS HONEYWELL GOV AFFAIRS
NCSL Washington State Night Dinner · Avli on the Park - Chicago, ILnot stated
2026-02-19WA PUBLIC AFFAIRS NETWORK DBA TVW
reported by RENEE R SINCLAIR
TVW Gala 2026 · Little Creek Casino Resort, 91 West State Route 108, Shelton, WA 98584not stated
2026-02-18TECHNOLOGY NETWORK
reported by Rose Feliciano
Meals for TechNet Legislative Reception with Washington Technology Industry Association. 50 people were invited and the per person cost was $250. · Jean-Pierre's Three16not stated
2026-02-03WA FEDERATION OF STATE EMPLOYEES
reported by DENNIS EAGLE
Working Families Caucus · Streets of Singapore - Olympia, WA$31.71
2026-01-29WA ASSN OF REALTORS
reported by Mary Hull-Drury
Legislative Reception · Washington Realtors Officenot stated
2026-01-26PACIFIC COAST SHELLFISH GROWERS ASSN
reported by GORDON THOMAS HONEYWELL GOV AFFAIRS
Legislative Reception · Chelsea Farms Oyster Bar - Olympia, WAnot stated
2026-01-19WA ASSN OF WHEAT GROWERS
reported by GORDON THOMAS HONEYWELL GOV AFFAIRS
Legislative Reception · Anthony's Homeport - Olympia, WAnot stated
2026-01-14WA ST BUILDING & CONSTRUCTION TRADES COUNCIL
reported by Heather Kurtenbach
Building Trades Legislative Reception · Anthony's Homeport$59.04
2026-01-12BMcConsulting
reported by BMcConsulting
Legislative Reception · 1889 Prime Steakhouse Olympia, WAnot stated
2026-01-12DOTY & ASSOC INC
reported by DOTY & ASSOC INC
Legislative reception · 1889 Prime Steakhouse, Olympia, WAnot stated
2025-09-22PFIZER INC
reported by Brandy Flores
Meal · 21823 30th Dr SE, Bothell, WA, 98201$37.85
2025-08-05GORDON THOMAS HONEYWELL GOV AFFAIRS
reported by GORDON THOMAS HONEYWELL GOV AFFAIRS
NCSL Washington State Night Dinner · Bar Volpe - Boston, MA$137.38
2025-03-31TECHNOLOGY NETWORK
reported by CHRISTOPHERSEN INC
TechNet Reception · Olympia, WAnot stated
2025-03-18WA PUBLIC AFFAIRS NETWORK DBA TVW
reported by RENEE R SINCLAIR
TVW Gala · Skookum Creek Event Center 91 West State Route 108 Shelton, WA 98584not stated
2025-02-20WA ST COUNCIL OF POLICE & SHERIFFS
reported by Teresa Taylor
Legislative Reception · Capitol Events Centernot stated
2025-02-05WA ST COUNCIL OF FIRE FIGHTERS
reported by DENNIS J LAWSON
Legislative Conference Reception · Capital Event Center, ESD 113, 6005 Tyee Drive SW, Tumwater, WA 98512not stated
2025-02-04WA ST BUILDING & CONSTRUCTION TRADES COUNCIL
reported by Heather Kurtenbach
Working Families Caucus · 906 Columbia St SW Ste 300, Olympia, WA 98501not stated
2025-01-29WA Hospitality Assn
reported by Julia Gorton
House Democrat dinner reception · Swing Wine barnot stated
2025-01-22WA FEDERATION OF STATE EMPLOYEES
reported by DENNIS EAGLE
WFSE Legislative Reception · Octapas Cafe - 810 Water Street SW - Olympia, WA 98501$61.88
2024-08-06GORDON THOMAS HONEYWELL GOV AFFAIRS
reported by GORDON THOMAS HONEYWELL GOV AFFAIRS
NCSL Washington State Night Dinner · Varanese - Louisville, KY$108.81
2024-07-11Northwest Gas Association
reported by Dan Kirschner
Breakfast w/LEHI Alumni · Grits & Gravy, Portland, ORnot stated
2024-05-15PEMCO Insurance
reported by DAN MCGRADY
Lunch with Dan McGrady and Representative Ryu · New Gangnam BBQ$27.63
2024-04-17Life Science Washington
reported by Curtis Knapp
Life Science Innovation Northwest VIP Reception · Alder & Ash Restaurant$131
2024-03-27Habitat for Humanity Seattle-King County
reported by Ryan Donohue
Habitat for Humanity's Beyond the Build Luncheon · Seattle Convention Centernot stated
2024-03-25ENTERTAINMENT SOFTWARE ASSN
reported by JEAN M LEONARD
Dinner · The Rockwood Fired Pizza, 830 N 10th St, Renton, W$35
2024-02-22WA REFUSE & RECYCLING ASSN
reported by CHRISTOPHERSEN INC
WRRA Legislative Reception · Columbia Roomnot stated

Who reported lobbying them

Employers whose lobbyists named them in a monthly report's lobbying, with the bills reported.

EmployerReportsBills
First American Title Insurance Company
latest 2026-03
6HB 2298, SB 5331
SERVICE CONTRACT INDUSTRY CNCL(Brewer Public Affairs)
latest 2025-04
4HB 1006, SB 5108
GoWest Credit Union Association
latest 2026-05
4HB 1900, HB 2157, HB 2298, HB 2500, HB 6120, SB 5489, SB 5849, SB 5887, SB 5938, SB 6284
FAITH ACTION NETWORK
latest 2026-02
4HB 2025, HB 2046, SB 5041, SB 5771, SB 6346
COMCAST CABLE COMMUNICATIONS
latest 2026-08
4HB 1170, HB 2097, HB 2112, HB 2115, HB 2157, SB 5984, SB 6111, SB 6190, SB 6284
Nonprofit Association of Washington
latest 2026-02
3none named
ADVANCED MEDICAL TECHNOLOGY ASSN
latest 2025-03
3HB 1168, HB 1438
WA FEDERATION OF STATE EMPLOYEES
latest 2026-01
2none named
WA EDUCATION ASSN
latest 2026-07
2none named
Seattle Children's Hospital
latest 2026-01
2none named
SNOHOMISH CO
latest 2026-02
2none named
SERVICE EMPLOYEES INTL UNION LOCAL 6
latest 2026-01
2HB 2422, HB 2524
SERVICE CONTRACT INDUSTRY CNCL (contracted through Brewer Public Affairs)
latest 2025-02
2none named
Northwest Immigrant Rights Project
latest 2025-03
2HB 1056, HB 1113, HB 1217, HB 1232, HB 1399, HB 1512, HB 1620, HB 1875, SB 5023, SB 5041, SB 5223, SB 5362 and 6 more
NORTHWEST CAREER COLLEGE FEDERATION
latest 2025-02
2HB 1023, HB 1874
Google LLC and its Affiliates
latest 2025-10
2none named
FairVote Washington
latest 2026-02
2HB 1146, HB 1710, HB 1916, HB 2210
FREEZER LONGLINE COALITION
latest 2026-08
2none named
Charter Communications Operating, LLC
latest 2026-02
2HB 1155, HB 1581, HB 1671, HB 1702, HB 2442, SB 5088, SB 5188, SB 5437, SB 6190
AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION OF WA
latest 2026-01
2HB 2332, SB 6002
WeTrain Washington
latest 2024-08
1none named
Washington Trails Association
latest 2025-03
1none named
Washington State Labor Council
latest 2026-01
1none named
WA STATE ASSN OF COUNTIES (WSAC)
latest 2025-06
1none named
WA PUBLIC UTILITIES DISTS ASSN
latest 2025-04
1SB 5804
UFCW 3000
latest 2026-01
1HB 2481
The Mountaineers
latest 2025-03
1HB 1198, SB 5167
The Arc of King County
latest 2025-04
1SB 5393
TECHNOLOGY NETWORK
latest 2024-12
1none named
T-MOBILE USA INC
latest 2025-01
1none named
Spark Northwest
latest 2025-11
1none named
Salesforce, Inc.
latest 2024-11
1none named
REGENCE BLUE SHIELD
latest 2025-01
1HB 1187
ONEAMERICA
latest 2026-03
1SB 5925
Nutrien
latest 2026-01
1none named
NoaNet
latest 2024-11
1none named
Nez Perce Tribe
latest 2024-01
1none named
New Americans Alliance for Policy and Research
latest 2024-11
1none named
NATL MULTIPLE SCLEROSIS SOCIETY GREATER NW CHAPTER
latest 2026-03
1SB 5993
Mason County PUD No. 3
latest 2025-07
1none named

Where their 2026 money comes from

IndividualsBusinessesTrade, professional and issue groupsLabor unionsTribal governmentsPolitical partiesOther candidates and officeholdersTheir own money

Contributions to their 2026 campaign by kind of donor (how kinds are read).

Campaign money: State Representative, 2026

$1,240raised, 4 contributions
$0their own money
$13,840spent

Other (incl. small contributions) $1,240

How it was spent

Transfer to surplus funds account$6,458
Management and consulting services$2,925
Other$1,876
Transfer to new campaign$1,600
Newspaper/periodical advertising$650
Computers, printers, software, phones, etc.$332
Top contributorsTypeTotal
State Farm Federal PAC
Bloomington
Other (incl. small contributions)$1,200

Raised and spent are the PDC's totals for this candidacy; the breakdowns are from its itemized contributions and expenditures · the PDC's page

Campaign money: State Senator, 2026

$247,203raised, 533 contributions
$2,010their own money
$238,979spent
$199 / $0outside spending for / against

Individuals $111,239 · Other (incl. small contributions) $96,354 · Parties $25,800 · PACs $12,400 · Their own money $2,010

How it was spent

Digital advertising$50,000
Wages, salaries, benefits, payroll taxes$42,743
Management and consulting services$27,883
Printing literature, fliers, postcards, etc.$27,246
Postage costs, mail permits, purchase of stamps$26,842
Printing literature, fliers, postcards, etc. $25,729
Other$6,077
Broadcast/cable TV advertising$5,000
Fundraising events and related costs$4,748
Computers, printers, software, phones, etc.$4,724
Top contributorsTypeTotal
Snohomish County Democratic Central Committee
Everett
Parties$25,000
PEMCO Mutual Insurance Company
Seattle
Other (incl. small contributions)$2,900
Jed Doors, LLC
Shoreline
Other (incl. small contributions)$2,500
Han Kim
BMI · Mercer Island
Individuals$2,400
Regence
Seattle
Other (incl. small contributions)$2,400
State Farm Federal PAC
Bloomington
Other (incl. small contributions)$2,400
WA Beer and Wine Distributors Association
Olympia
PACs$2,400
WA Beverage Assn PAC
Olympia
Other (incl. small contributions)$2,400
WASHBANKPAC State
Seattle
Other (incl. small contributions)$2,400
Yun S. Hong
Sykart Indoor Racing Ctr, LLC · Shoreline
Individuals$2,400
Entertainment Software Association
Washington
Other (incl. small contributions)$2,400
Evergreen Beauty College
Everett
Other (incl. small contributions)$2,400
Kyung L. Shin
self · Shoreline
Individuals$2,400
Allstate Insurance Company
Northbrook
Other (incl. small contributions)$2,400
Robyn Kim
none · Brush Prairie
Individuals$2,400

Raised and spent are the PDC's totals for this candidacy; the breakdowns are from its itemized contributions and expenditures · the PDC's page

Campaign money: State Representative, 2024

$128,847raised, 200 contributions
$3,715their own money
$152,216spent
$120 / $0outside spending for / against

Other (incl. small contributions) $97,172 · PACs $18,183 · Individuals $9,275 · Their own money $3,715 · Parties $501

How it was spent

Transfer to surplus funds account$134,162
Management and consulting services$7,875
Other$4,331
Newspaper/periodical advertising$1,200
Utilities, phone, and other overhead costs$988
Fundraising events and related costs$875
Inkind contribution$809
Accounting, legal, regulatory compliance, etc.$750
Printing literature, fliers, postcards, etc.$625
Filing fees$602
Top contributorsTypeTotal
Muckleshoot Indian Tribe
Auburn
Other (incl. small contributions)$2,400
USAA
San Antonio
Other (incl. small contributions)$2,400
Regence
Seattle
Other (incl. small contributions)$2,400
WA State Auto Dealers PAC
Renton
Other (incl. small contributions)$2,400
Jackson Legacy Fund
Seattle
PACs$2,400
Puyallup Tribe of Indians
Tacoma
Other (incl. small contributions)$2,400
WA Multi Family Housing Assn PAC Account
Renton
Other (incl. small contributions)$2,400
WHCA PAC / WA Health Care Assn PAC
Tumwater
Other (incl. small contributions)$2,400
Campaign for Tribal Self Reliance / WA Indian Gaming Association
Olympia
Other (incl. small contributions)$2,400
Puget Sound Energy
Bellevue
Other (incl. small contributions)$2,400
Credit Union Legislative Action Fund / NW Credit Union Assn
Seatac
Other (incl. small contributions)$2,400
WA Education Assn PAC / WEA PAC
Federal Way
Other (incl. small contributions)$2,400
WA Beverage Assn PAC
Olympia
Other (incl. small contributions)$2,400
WASHBANKPAC State
Seattle
Other (incl. small contributions)$2,400
WA State Radiological Society PAC
Seattle
Their own money$2,400

Raised and spent are the PDC's totals for this candidacy; the breakdowns are from its itemized contributions and expenditures · the PDC's page