People › State House
Steve Tharinger
Data last updated: F-1 statements filed through Oct 13, 2026 · contributions through Oct 14, 2026 · lobbyist reports through Sep 30, 2026 (read Oct 14, 2026)
State Representative, Legislative District 24, Position 2
Running in 2026: State Representative, District 24, Position 2 (on the ballot)
Statements of financial affairs (F-1)
| Period | Filed | What it lists |
|---|---|---|
| 2025-01-01 – 2025-12-31 State Representative, Legislative District 24 | 2026-03-27 | 2 income, 34 accounts, 1 businesses, 1 real estate |
| 2024-01-01 – 2024-12-31 State Representative, Legislative District 24 | 2025-03-16 | 2 income, 34 accounts, 1 businesses, 1 real estate |
Findings
None.
In the Legislature
Bills they introduced as prime sponsor 26
| EHB 1382 All payers claim database 2025-26 | Law (C 305 L 25) |
| 2SHB 1906 Water system rates 2025-26 | Law (C 237 L 26) |
| HB 1983 Timberland definition/REET 2025-26 | Law (C 171 L 26) |
| SHB 1216 Capital budget 2025-26 | House Rules "X" file. |
| SHB 2295 Capital budget, supplemental 2025-26 | Referred to Rules 2 Review. |
| HB 1208 Salmon recovery projects 2025-26 | By resolution, reintroduced and retained in present status. |
| HB 2016 Capital budget for broadband 2025-26 | House Rules "X" file. |
| HB 1115 Recording fees/escrow tax 2025-26 | By resolution, reintroduced and retained in present status. |
| SHB 1202 State gen. obligation bonds 2025-26 | House Rules "X" file. |
| HB 1805 Children services/local tax 2025-26 | By resolution, reintroduced and retained in present status. |
| SHB 1806 Commercial fishing revenue 2025-26 | By resolution, reintroduced and retained in present status. |
| HB 1641 Definition of timberland 2025-26 | By resolution, reintroduced and retained in present status. |
| SHCR 4403 Joel Pritchard State Library 2025-26 | House Rules "X" file. |
| SHB 1267 Rural public facilities/tax 2023-24 | Law (C 411 L 23) |
| ESHB 1148 State gen. obligation bonds 2023-24 | Law (C 473 L 23) |
| HB 1018 Hog fuel/tax exemption 2023-24 | Law (C 341 L 23) |
| SHB 1818 Forestland/compensating tax 2023-24 | Law (C 109 L 24) |
| HB 2378 Health care facility fees 2023-24 | First reading, referred to Health Care & Wellness. |
| SHB 1147 Capital budget 2023-24 | House Rules "X" file. |
| SHB 2089 Capital budget, supplemental 2023-24 | Referred to Rules 2 Review. |
| HB 1149 Housing/capital expenditures 2023-24 | By resolution, reintroduced and retained in present status. |
| SHB 1306 Public works procurement 2023-24 | House Rules "X" file. |
| HB 1571 Nursing facility rates 2023-24 | By resolution, reintroduced and retained in present status. |
| HB 1662 Sole community hospitals 2023-24 | By resolution, reintroduced and retained in present status. |
| SHB 1709 Commerce housing programs 2023-24 | House Rules "X" file. |
Final passage votes on the most-lobbied bills
| Bill | Vote | Lobbying employers |
|---|---|---|
| ESSB 5167 Operating budget House, Apr 27, 2025 | Yea | 93 |
| ESSB 5167 Operating budget House, Mar 31, 2025 | Yea | 93 |
| ESSB 5998 Operating budget, supp. House, Mar 12, 2026 | Yea | 57 |
| ESSB 5998 Operating budget, supp. House, Feb 28, 2026 | Excused | 57 |
| E2SSB 5284 Solid waste management House, Apr 14, 2025 | Yea | 52 |
| SSB 5195 Capital budget House, Apr 27, 2025 | Yea | 50 |
| ESSB 6346 Tax on millionaires House, Mar 9, 2026 | Yea | 46 |
| EHB 1217 Residential tenants House, Apr 27, 2025 | Yea | 42 |
| EHB 1217 Residential tenants House, Mar 10, 2025 | Yea | 42 |
| ESHB 2081 Business and occupation tax House, Apr 22, 2025 | Yea | 38 |
| ESHB 2081 Business and occupation tax House, Apr 22, 2025 | Yea | 38 |
| ESSB 5814 Excise taxes House, Apr 23, 2025 | Yea | 34 |
| E2SSB 5981 340B drug pricing program House, Mar 6, 2026 | Excused | 30 |
| ESSB 5041 Unemp ins/strikes & lockouts House, Apr 25, 2025 | Nay | 28 |
| ESSB 5041 Unemp ins/strikes & lockouts House, Apr 12, 2025 | Nay | 28 |
| SSB 6003 Capital budget, supplemental House, Mar 12, 2026 | Yea | 25 |
| 2SHB 2105 Immigrant workers House, Mar 11, 2026 | Yea | 24 |
| 2SHB 2105 Immigrant workers House, Feb 13, 2026 | Excused | 24 |
| E2SHB 1903 Low-income energy assistance House, Mar 11, 2026 | Excused | 23 |
| ESHB 2266 Supportive & emerg. housing House, Mar 9, 2026 | Excused | 23 |
| ESHB 2266 Supportive & emerg. housing House, Feb 16, 2026 | Excused | 23 |
| E2SHB 1903 Low-income energy assistance House, Feb 14, 2026 | Excused | 23 |
| ESSB 5794 Tax preferences House, Apr 23, 2025 | Yea | 22 |
| ESHB 1155 Noncompetition agreements House, Mar 9, 2026 | Excused | 20 |
| ESSB 6002 Driver privacy House, Mar 5, 2026 | Excused | 20 |
Lobbyist-paid meals and events 8
Where a lobbyist's monthly report lists them among the people a lobbyist or employer paid for. A dinner several employers split appears once for each employer. Shares are shown when the report states them.
| Date | Paid by | Occasion | Their share |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-08-08 | Sundial Advocacy LLC reported by Sundial Advocacy LLC | Mariners Game/Food and Beverage · T-Mobile Park | not stated |
| 2026-02-19 | WA REFUSE & RECYCLING ASSN reported by CHRISTOPHERSEN INC | WRRA LEGISLATIVE RECEPTION · Columbia Room | not stated |
| 2025-03-31 | TECHNOLOGY NETWORK reported by CHRISTOPHERSEN INC | TechNet Reception · Olympia, WA | not stated |
| 2025-03-24 | ENERGY NORTHWEST reported by DAVID C ARBAUGH | Legislative Nuclear Energy Caucus · Vic's Pizzeria Wildwood - JAC211 Capitol Campus | $4.65 |
| 2025-03-20 | WA PUBLIC UTILITIES DISTS ASSN reported by LIZ ANDERSON | WPUDA legislative reception · Legislative building rotunda | not stated |
| 2025-02-05 | WA ST COUNCIL OF FIRE FIGHTERS reported by DENNIS J LAWSON | Legislative Conference Reception · Capital Event Center, ESD 113, 6005 Tyee Drive SW, Tumwater, WA 98512 | not stated |
| 2025-02-04 | WA ST BUILDING & CONSTRUCTION TRADES COUNCIL reported by Heather Kurtenbach | Working Families Caucus · 906 Columbia St SW Ste 300, Olympia, WA 98501 | not stated |
| 2024-11-07 | NIPPC - Northwest & Intermountain Power Producers Coalition reported by CHRISTOPHERSEN INC | NIPPC Tour - Hotel Room, Meals, Shuttle · NIPPC Sites | not stated |
Who reported lobbying them
Employers whose lobbyists named them in a monthly report's lobbying, with the bills reported.
| Employer | Reports | Bills |
|---|---|---|
| WA STATE ASSN OF COUNTIES (WSAC) latest 2025-12 | 8 | HB 1098, HB 1216, HB 1227, HB 1334, HB 1397, HB 1428, HB 1488, HB 1549, HB 1571, HB 1622, HB 1647, HB 1702 and 21 more |
| Full Life Care latest 2025-07 | 5 | none named |
| ENERGY NORTHWEST latest 2025-12 | 5 | HB 1018, HB 1057, HB 1216, HB 1237, HB 1249, HB 1253, HB 1328, HB 1461, HB 1481, HB 1610, HB 1679, HB 1819 and 6 more |
| Conservation NW latest 2025-03 | 5 | HB 1311, HB 1508, HB 1825, SB 5167, SB 5171, SB 5195, SB 5203 |
| Washington State Labor Council latest 2025-08 | 4 | none named |
| WA State Assn of Plumbers & Pipefitters latest 2025-04 | 4 | HB 1173, HB 1462, HB 1549, HB 1628, HB 1723, HB 1788, SB 5422, SB 5548, SB 5572, SB 5756 |
| CITY OF RICHLAND latest 2025-04 | 4 | HB 1022, HB 1057, HB 1096, HB 1210, HB 1216, HB 1610, HB 1643, HB 1673, SB 5445 |
| Sierra Pacific Industries latest 2025-04 | 3 | HB 1389, HB 1508, HB 1712, HB 1726, SB 5155 |
| PROLIANCE SURGEONS latest 2025-04 | 3 | none named |
| Health Care for All - Washington latest 2025-10 | 3 | none named |
| Firelands Workers United / Trabajadores Unidos latest 2026-02 | 3 | SB 6346 |
| Aging in PACE Washington latest 2026-04 | 3 | none named |
| WA State Community Action Partnership latest 2025-02 | 2 | none named |
| WA ST NURSES ASSN latest 2024-10 | 2 | none named |
| WA PUBLIC UTILITIES DISTS ASSN latest 2025-07 | 2 | HB 2016 |
| Northwest Pulp & Paper Association latest 2025-03 | 2 | SB 5360 |
| IDDeal Living latest 2026-03 | 2 | none named |
| FAITH ACTION NETWORK latest 2025-04 | 2 | HB 2027 |
| Children's Alliance latest 2025-11 | 2 | none named |
| ASSOCIATED GENERAL CONTRACTORS OF WA latest 2025-04 | 2 | none named |
| WeTrain Washington latest 2024-11 | 1 | none named |
| Washington Trails Association latest 2025-03 | 1 | none named |
| WA ST DENTAL HYGIENISTS ASSN latest 2025-09 | 1 | HB 1680 |
| The Arc of King County latest 2025-04 | 1 | SB 5393 |
| TROUT UNLIMITED latest 2025-03 | 1 | none named |
| Spark Northwest latest 2025-01 | 1 | none named |
| Seattle Children's Hospital latest 2025-02 | 1 | HB 1272, SB 5083 |
| STILLAGUAMISH TRIBE OF INDIANS latest 2025-01 | 1 | none named |
| SQUAXIN ISLAND TRIBE latest 2025-12 | 1 | none named |
| Redwood Materials, Inc latest 2026-02 | 1 | SB 6076 |
| Public Libraries of Washington latest 2024-10 | 1 | none named |
| PUGET SOUND KEEPER ALLIANCE latest 2026-02 | 1 | HB 1607, HB 1903, HB 2421, HB 2515, SB 5360, SB 5965 |
| PUGET SOUND ENERGY INC latest 2024-10 | 1 | none named |
| PLANNED PARENTHOOD ALLIANCE ADVOCATES latest 2025-10 | 1 | none named |
| PHARMACEUTICAL RSRCH/MFG OF AMERICA latest 2025-11 | 1 | none named |
| PACIFIC COAST SHELLFISH GROWERS ASSN latest 2025-02 | 1 | HB 1309, SB 5322 |
| ONEAMERICA latest 2026-03 | 1 | SB 5925 |
| Nonprofit Association of Washington latest 2025-02 | 1 | none named |
| NoaNet latest 2024-11 | 1 | none named |
| NATL ASSN OF SOCIAL WORKERS WA ST CHAPTER latest 2025-02 | 1 | none named |
Where their 2026 money comes from
IndividualsBusinessesTrade, professional and issue groupsLabor unionsTribal governmentsPolitical partiesOther candidates and officeholdersTheir own money
Contributions to their 2026 campaign by kind of donor (how kinds are read).
Campaign money: State Representative, 2026
Other (incl. small contributions) $21,550 · PACs $1,600
How it was spent
| Top contributors | Type | Total |
|---|---|---|
| Jamestown S'Klallam Tribe Sequim | Other (incl. small contributions) | $2,400 |
| Genentech Inc South San Francisco | Other (incl. small contributions) | $1,200 |
| Nisqually Indian Tribe Olympia | Other (incl. small contributions) | $1,200 |
| Regence Seattle | Other (incl. small contributions) | $1,200 |
| The Boeing Company PAC Arlington | Other (incl. small contributions) | $1,200 |
| The Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation Nespelem | Other (incl. small contributions) | $1,200 |
| Elevance Health Inc Cincinnati | Other (incl. small contributions) | $1,200 |
| Puget Sound Energy Bellevue | Other (incl. small contributions) | $1,200 |
| Delta Dental of WA Seattle | Other (incl. small contributions) | $1,200 |
| SEIU 775 Quality Care Committee Seattle | Other (incl. small contributions) | $1,200 |
| Chevron USA Inc San Ramon | Other (incl. small contributions) | $1,200 |
| Kaiser Aluminum Franklin | Other (incl. small contributions) | $1,200 |
| NW Natural Gas Company Portland | Other (incl. small contributions) | $1,200 |
| SEIU Healthcare 1199NW United for Quality Care Kent | Other (incl. small contributions) | $1,200 |
| Swinomish Indian Tribal Community La Conner | Other (incl. small contributions) | $1,200 |
Raised and spent are the PDC's totals for this candidacy; the breakdowns are from its itemized contributions and expenditures · the PDC's page
Campaign money: State Representative, 2024
Other (incl. small contributions) $95,050 · PACs $53,575 · Their own money $11,802 · Individuals $9,909 · Parties $179
How it was spent
| Top contributors | Type | Total |
|---|---|---|
| Jamestown S'Klallam Tribe Sequim | Other (incl. small contributions) | $2,400 |
| Tulalip Tribes of WA Tulalip | Other (incl. small contributions) | $2,400 |
| Puget Sound Pilots PAC Seattle | PACs | $2,400 |
| Justice for All PAC Seattle | Their own money | $2,400 |
| Port Gamble S'Klallam Tribe Kingston | Other (incl. small contributions) | $2,400 |
| Regence Seattle | Other (incl. small contributions) | $2,400 |
| SEIU 775 Quality Care Committee Seattle | Other (incl. small contributions) | $2,400 |
| DaVita Federal Way | Other (incl. small contributions) | $2,400 |
| Invenergy LLC Chicago | Other (incl. small contributions) | $2,400 |
| Kaiser Aluminum Franklin | Other (incl. small contributions) | $2,400 |
| Puyallup Tribe of Indians Tacoma | Other (incl. small contributions) | $2,400 |
| IBEW Local 77 PAC Seatac | PACs | $2,400 |
| Phillips 66 Company Washington | Other (incl. small contributions) | $2,400 |
| IUPAT Political Action Together Leg Education Committee Hanover | PACs | $2,400 |
| Retired Public Employees Council of WA/RPEC PAC Olympia | PACs | $2,400 |
Raised and spent are the PDC's totals for this candidacy; the breakdowns are from its itemized contributions and expenditures · the PDC's page