People › State Senate
Shelly Short
Data last updated: F-1 statements filed through Oct 13, 2026 · contributions through Oct 14, 2026 · lobbyist reports through Sep 30, 2026 (read Oct 14, 2026)
State Senator, Legislative District 7
Running in 2026: State Senator, District 7 (In the general)
Statements of financial affairs (F-1)
| Period | Filed | What it lists |
|---|---|---|
| 2025-01-01 – 2025-12-31 State Senator, Legislative District 7 | 2026-04-10 | 4 income, 1 accounts, 2 businesses, 1 real estate, 5 creditors |
| 2024-01-01 – 2024-12-31 State Senator, Legislative District 7 | 2025-04-10 | 3 income, 1 accounts, 2 businesses, 1 real estate, 4 creditors |
Findings
None.
In the Legislature
Bills they introduced as prime sponsor 39
| SB 5343 NE WA wolf-livestock account 2025-26 | Law (C 247 L 25) |
| SB 5334 DNR civil enforcement appeal 2025-26 | Law (C 327 L 25) |
| SSB 5165 Deer and elk damage 2025-26 | Law (C 185 L 25) |
| SSB 5171 Wolf predation 2025-26 | By resolution, reintroduced and retained in present status. |
| SB 5429 State building code council 2025-26 | By resolution, reintroduced and retained in present status. |
| SB 5960 Ungulate populations 2025-26 | First reading, referred to Agriculture & Natural Resources. |
| SB 5959 Charity care residency 2025-26 | First reading, referred to Health & Long-Term Care. |
| SJM 8015 Federal wildfire response 2025-26 | By resolution, returned to Senate Rules Committee for third reading. |
| SSB 5170 DNR boundary line surveys 2025-26 | Senate Rules "X" file. |
| SSB 5941 Schools/renewable energy 2025-26 | By resolution, returned to Senate Rules Committee for third reading. |
| ESB 5899 Chiropractic/animals 2025-26 | By resolution, returned to Senate Rules Committee for third reading. |
| SB 5893 Forest health appropriation 2025-26 | First reading, referred to Ways & Means. |
| SB 5896 Water quality pollution 2025-26 | First reading, referred to Environment, Energy & Technology. |
| SSB 5905 Port workers PERS membership 2025-26 | By resolution, returned to Senate Rules Committee for third reading. |
| SB 5173 County comprehensive plans 2025-26 | By resolution, reintroduced and retained in present status. |
| SB 5354 Gray wolf management 2025-26 | By resolution, reintroduced and retained in present status. |
| SB 5707 Subscriber emails/PRA 2025-26 | By resolution, reintroduced and retained in present status. |
| SB 5908 WDFW public participation 2025-26 | First reading, referred to Agriculture & Natural Resources. |
| SB 5065 Bone marrow donation/schools 2023-24 | Law (C 219 L 23) |
| SB 5066 Health care benefit managers 2023-24 | Law (C 107 L 23), partly vetoed |
| SSB 5145 Liability/hydro. projects 2023-24 | Law (C 183 L 23) |
| SSB 5306 WDFW disease interdiction 2023-24 | Law (C 318 L 24) |
| SSB 5374 County critical areas 2023-24 | Law (C 225 L 23) |
| SB 5457 Small cities/GMA 2023-24 | Law (C 280 L 23) |
| SB 5508 Greenhouses 2023-24 | Law (C 19 L 24) |
Final passage votes on the most-lobbied bills
| Bill | Vote | Lobbying employers |
|---|---|---|
| ESSB 5167 Operating budget Senate, Apr 27, 2025 | Nay | 93 |
| ESSB 5167 Operating budget Senate, Mar 29, 2025 | Nay | 93 |
| ESSB 5998 Operating budget, supp. Senate, Mar 12, 2026 | Nay | 57 |
| ESSB 5998 Operating budget, supp. Senate, Feb 27, 2026 | Nay | 57 |
| E2SSB 5284 Solid waste management Senate, Apr 23, 2025 | Nay | 52 |
| E2SSB 5284 Solid waste management Senate, Mar 7, 2025 | Nay | 52 |
| SSB 5195 Capital budget Senate, Apr 27, 2025 | Yea | 50 |
| SSB 5195 Capital budget Senate, Apr 5, 2025 | Yea | 50 |
| ESSB 6346 Tax on millionaires Senate, Mar 11, 2026 | Nay | 46 |
| ESSB 6346 Tax on millionaires Senate, Feb 16, 2026 | Nay | 46 |
| EHB 1217 Residential tenants Senate, Apr 27, 2025 | Nay | 42 |
| EHB 1217 Residential tenants Senate, Apr 10, 2025 | Nay | 42 |
| ESHB 2081 Business and occupation tax Senate, Apr 26, 2025 | Nay | 38 |
| ESSB 5814 Excise taxes Senate, Apr 24, 2025 | Nay | 34 |
| ESSB 5814 Excise taxes Senate, Apr 19, 2025 | Nay | 34 |
| E2SSB 5981 340B drug pricing program Senate, Mar 9, 2026 | Nay | 30 |
| E2SSB 5981 340B drug pricing program Senate, Feb 13, 2026 | Nay | 30 |
| ESSB 5041 Unemp ins/strikes & lockouts Senate, Apr 25, 2025 | Nay | 28 |
| ESSB 5041 Unemp ins/strikes & lockouts Senate, Mar 7, 2025 | Nay | 28 |
| SSB 6003 Capital budget, supplemental Senate, Mar 12, 2026 | Yea | 25 |
| SSB 6003 Capital budget, supplemental Senate, Feb 27, 2026 | Yea | 25 |
| 2SHB 2105 Immigrant workers Senate, Mar 5, 2026 | Nay | 24 |
| E2SHB 1903 Low-income energy assistance Senate, Mar 6, 2026 | Yea | 23 |
| ESHB 2266 Supportive & emerg. housing Senate, Mar 4, 2026 | Nay | 23 |
| ESSB 5794 Tax preferences Senate, Apr 24, 2025 | Nay | 22 |
Lobbyist-paid meals and events 20
Where a lobbyist's monthly report lists them among the people a lobbyist or employer paid for. A dinner several employers split appears once for each employer. Shares are shown when the report states them.
| Date | Paid by | Occasion | Their share |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-02-02 | WA POTATO & ONION ASSN reported by GORDON THOMAS HONEYWELL GOV AFFAIRS | Legislative Reception · Anthony's Homeport - Olympia, WA | not stated |
| 2026-01-21 | ENERGY NORTHWEST reported by DAVID C ARBAUGH | Legislative Reception · Capitol Rotunda (Budd Bay Cafe Catering) | not stated |
| 2026-01-19 | WA ASSN OF WHEAT GROWERS reported by GORDON THOMAS HONEYWELL GOV AFFAIRS | Legislative Reception · Anthony's Homeport - Olympia, WA | not stated |
| 2026-01-12 | BMcConsulting reported by BMcConsulting | Legislative Reception · 1889 Prime Steakhouse Olympia, WA | not stated |
| 2026-01-12 | DOTY & ASSOC INC reported by DOTY & ASSOC INC | Legislative reception · 1889 Prime Steakhouse, Olympia, WA | not stated |
| 2025-11-18 | BUILDING INDUSTRY ASSN OF WA reported by Jan Himebaugh | SRC Dinner · Amarone Ristorante & Bar in Issaquah WA | not stated |
| 2025-11-18 | The Nichols Group Government Relations LLC reported by The Nichols Group Government Relations LLC | SRC Dinner · Amarone Ristorante & Bar in Issaquah WA | not stated |
| 2025-11-18 | Western States Petroleum Assn. reported by Sophia Steele | SRC Dinner. Total amount $2,193.30, split four ways between Troy Nichols (The Nichols Group Government Relations), Rob Makin (Rob Makin Consulting), Jan Himebaugh (BIAW) and Sophia Steele (WSPA). · Amarone Ristorante & Bar in Issaquah, WA | not stated |
| 2025-03-19 | Ludeman Public Affairs reported by Ludeman Public Affairs | Trainwreck dinner · Heritage Distillery | not stated |
| 2025-03-19 | SABEY CORPORATION reported by ROB MAKIN CONSULTING | Co-Sponsorship of Senate Republican "Train Wreck" · Heritage Distilling Co.; Tumwater, WA | not stated |
| 2025-02-18 | WA POTATO & ONION ASSN reported by GORDON THOMAS HONEYWELL GOV AFFAIRS | Legislative Reception · Anthony's Homeport - Olympia, WA | not stated |
| 2025-02-13 | CHELAN CO PUBLIC UTILITY DIST #1 reported by DAVID C ARBAUGH | 7th District Legislative Dinner · Cynara Restaurant & Lounge - Olympia, WA | $23 |
| 2025-02-13 | Okanogan County PUD - WKF reported by The Warren Group, LLC | 7th District Legislative DInner · Cynara Restaurant and Lounge, Olympia | $23 |
| 2025-02-13 | Propolis Communications reported by Propolis Communications | 7th District Legislative Dinner · Cynara Restaurant & Lounge - Olympia, WA | $23 |
| 2025-02-05 | WA ST COUNCIL OF FIRE FIGHTERS reported by DENNIS J LAWSON | Legislative Conference Reception · Capital Event Center, ESD 113, 6005 Tyee Drive SW, Tumwater, WA 98512 | not stated |
| 2025-01-22 | ENERGY NORTHWEST reported by DAVID C ARBAUGH | Legislative Reception · Budd Bay Cafe - Olympia, WA | not stated |
| 2024-02-26 | AVISTA CORP reported by JOHN ROTHLIN | Dinner · Anthony's | $24 |
| 2024-01-30 | WA ST FARM BUREAU reported by Caleb Gwerder | Legislative Reception w/ Farm Bureau Members · Olympia, WA | not stated |
| 2024-01-15 | WA ASSN OF WHEAT GROWERS reported by GORDON THOMAS HONEYWELL GOV AFFAIRS | Legislative Day Reception · Anthony's HomePort - Olympia | not stated |
| 2024-01-11 | PUD No. 1 of Douglas County reported by BRUCE K BECKETT | Dinner; · Anthony's Homeport, Olympia | not stated |
Who reported lobbying them
Employers whose lobbyists named them in a monthly report's lobbying, with the bills reported.
| Employer | Reports | Bills |
|---|---|---|
| WA STATE ASSN OF COUNTIES (WSAC) latest 2026-06 | 7 | HB 1071, HB 1150, HB 1154, HB 1334, HB 1397, HB 1428, HB 1488, HB 1571, HB 1607, HB 1622, HB 1702, HB 1710 and 10 more |
| WA State Assn of Plumbers & Pipefitters latest 2025-04 | 6 | HB 1173, HB 1210, HB 1462, HB 1549, HB 1628, HB 1723, HB 1788, SB 5061, SB 5422, SB 5548, SB 5572, SB 5649 and 1 more |
| Conservation NW latest 2026-03 | 5 | HB 1311, HB 1825, SB 5171, SB 5203 |
| INLAND POWER & LIGHT latest 2026-06 | 3 | HB 1903, HB 2296, HB 2575 |
| Habitat for Humanity-Spokane latest 2026-03 | 3 | HB 1717, HB 1959, HB 1974, HB 2295, SB 5884, SB 5885, SB 6003 |
| Congressional Sportsmen's Foundation latest 2026-01 | 3 | SB 5390, SB 5960 |
| BUILDING INDUSTRY ASSN OF WA latest 2026-01 | 3 | SB 5429, SB 5609 |
| WA PUBLIC UTILITIES DISTS ASSN latest 2026-02 | 2 | HB 1903, HB 2515, SB 5982, SB 6076 |
| Spark Northwest latest 2026-03 | 2 | ESSB 6200, HB 1903, HB 2338, SB 6200, SB 6223 |
| REGIONAL FISHERIES ENHANCEMENT GROUP COALITION latest 2026-02 | 2 | HB 1208, SB 5155 |
| PUGET SOUND ENERGY INC latest 2025-12 | 2 | none named |
| OKANOGAN CO PUD latest 2025-01 | 2 | none named |
| JPMorgan Chase Holdings LLC latest 2026-03 | 2 | HB 1285, HB 2257, HB 2667, HB 6284, SB 5720, SB 5849, SB 5984, SB 6120 |
| Western Community Insurance Company latest 2026-01 | 1 | SB 5919, SB 5928 |
| Washington Trails Association latest 2025-03 | 1 | none named |
| Twelve latest 2026-03 | 1 | SB 5932 |
| TAYLOR SHELLFISH CO INC latest 2025-02 | 1 | none named |
| Sierra Pacific Industries latest 2025-12 | 1 | none named |
| Room One latest 2026-02 | 1 | none named |
| PUGET SOUND KEEPER ALLIANCE latest 2026-02 | 1 | HB 1607, HB 1903, HB 2421, HB 2515, SB 5360, SB 5965 |
| PMI US Corporate Services Inc. and Affiliates latest 2025-12 | 1 | none named |
| Okanogan County PUD - WKF latest 2026-03 | 1 | HB 2515, SB 5366 |
| Klickitat County PUD latest 2026-02 | 1 | HB 1903, HB 2515 |
| Clark Regional Wastewater District latest 2025-03 | 1 | SB 5360 |
| Charter Communications Operating, LLC latest 2026-02 | 1 | HB 1155, HB 2442, SB 5188, SB 6190 |
| Chamber of Progress latest 2025-02 | 1 | SB 5600 |
| CITY OF SPOKANE (contracted through JBD Elemental LLC) latest 2026-02 | 1 | HB 2416 |
| CITY OF SPOKANE latest 2026-02 | 1 | none named |
| CHELAN CO PUBLIC UTILITY DIST #1 latest 2025-12 | 1 | none named |
| ASSOCIATED GENERAL CONTRACTORS OF WA latest 2025-03 | 1 | none named |
| AMERIPEN latest 2025-02 | 1 | none named |
| AMERICAN CANCER SOCIETY CANCER ACTION NETWORK latest 2024-12 | 1 | none named |
Where their 2026 money comes from
IndividualsBusinessesTrade, professional and issue groupsLabor unionsTribal governmentsPolitical partiesOther candidates and officeholdersTheir own money
Contributions to their 2026 campaign by kind of donor (how kinds are read).
Campaign money: State Senator, 2026
Businesses $86,150 · PACs $79,760 · Other (incl. small contributions) $18,595 · Individuals $10,550 · Unions $1,000
How it was spent
| Top contributors | Type | Total |
|---|---|---|
| SHELLY FOR STATE SURPLUS ACCOUNT Colville | Other (incl. small contributions) | $10,000 |
| WA CHARTERS ACTION PAC Seattle | PACs | $2,400 |
| SABEY CORPORATION Seattle | Businesses | $2,400 |
| MACPAC Olympia | PACs | $2,400 |
| MICROSOFT CORPORATION Redmond | Businesses | $2,400 |
| BRISTOL-MYERS SQUIBB CO Tampa | Businesses | $2,400 |
| WASHINGTON FOREST PROTECTION ASSOC PAC Olympia | PACs | $2,400 |
| KAISER ALUMINUM Foothill Ranch | Businesses | $2,400 |
| PUYALLUP TRIBE OF INDIANS Tacoma | PACs | $2,400 |
| WASHINGTON STATE PHARMACY PAC Renton | PACs | $2,400 |
| USAA San Antonio | Businesses | $2,400 |
| AMAZON.COM SERVICES LLC Seattle | Businesses | $2,400 |
| THE CONFEDERATED TRIBES OF THE COLVILLE RESERVATION Nespelem | PACs | $2,400 |
| THE BOEING COMPANY PAC Arlington | PACs | $2,400 |
| Washington Refuse and Recycling Association PAC Lacey | PACs | $2,400 |
Raised and spent are the PDC's totals for this candidacy; the breakdowns are from its itemized contributions and expenditures · the PDC's page