People › State House
Mike Volz
Data last updated: F-1 statements filed through Oct 13, 2026 · contributions through Oct 14, 2026 · lobbyist reports through Sep 30, 2026 (read Oct 14, 2026)
State Representative, Legislative District 6, Position 1
Running in 2026: County Treasurer, Spokane County (In the general)
Statements of financial affairs (F-1)
| Period | Filed | What it lists |
|---|---|---|
| 2025-01-01 – 2026-01-07 State Representative, Legislative District 6 · County Treasurer, Spokane County | 2026-04-15 | 3 income, 5 accounts, 1 real estate, 2 creditors |
| 2024-01-01 – 2024-12-31 State Representative, Legislative District 6 | 2025-01-27 | 3 income, 5 accounts, 1 real estate, 5 creditors |
Findings
None.
In the Legislature
Bills they introduced as prime sponsor 27
| HB 1636 Wine & spirit sales limits 2025-26 | Law (C 95 L 25) |
| HB 1760 Manufactured homes/org. sale 2025-26 | Law (C 68 L 25) |
| SHB 1700 Comprehensive plan updates 2025-26 | House Rules "X" file. |
| HB 1798 Firefighters' pension boards 2025-26 | House Rules "X" file. |
| HB 2500 Transfers to charities 2025-26 | First reading, referred to Civil Rights & Judiciary. |
| HB 1179 Property tax value freeze 2025-26 | By resolution, reintroduced and retained in present status. |
| HB 1221 Gubernatorial proclamations 2025-26 | By resolution, reintroduced and retained in present status. |
| HB 1699 Interscholastic sports 2025-26 | By resolution, reintroduced and retained in present status. |
| HB 1761 Local elected official oaths 2025-26 | By resolution, reintroduced and retained in present status. |
| HB 1776 Firearm check fee refunds 2025-26 | By resolution, reintroduced and retained in present status. |
| HB 1786 Public safety facilities 2025-26 | By resolution, reintroduced and retained in present status. |
| HB 2717 Highly capable student alloc 2025-26 | First reading, referred to Appropriations. |
| HB 2721 Comm. interior designers 2025-26 | First reading, referred to Consumer Protection & Business. |
| E2SHB 1899 Wildfire reconstruction 2023-24 | Law (C 143 L 24) |
| HB 2481 PEBB/month of death 2023-24 | Law (C 185 L 24) |
| 2SHB 2014 Definition of veteran 2023-24 | Law (C 146 L 24) |
| HB 2013 Retirement benefits/death 2023-24 | First reading, referred to Appropriations. |
| SHB 2283 Shared leave/disasters 2023-24 | By resolution, returned to House Rules Committee for third reading. |
| SHB 1417 Multistate nurse licensure 2023-24 | By resolution, reintroduced and retained in present status. |
| HB 1623 Regional economic dev. 2023-24 | By resolution, reintroduced and retained in present status. |
| HB 1708 Ballots/online portal 2023-24 | By resolution, reintroduced and retained in present status. |
| SHB 1778 Economic resilience planning 2023-24 | By resolution, reintroduced and retained in present status. |
| HB 1860 Stay-to-play 2023-24 | By resolution, reintroduced and retained in present status. |
| SHB 1952 Disasters/long-term recovery 2023-24 | House Rules "X" file. |
| HB 2439 Personal income taxes 2023-24 | First reading, referred to Finance. |
Final passage votes on the most-lobbied bills
| Bill | Vote | Lobbying employers |
|---|---|---|
| ESSB 5167 Operating budget House, Apr 27, 2025 | Nay | 93 |
| ESSB 5167 Operating budget House, Mar 31, 2025 | Nay | 93 |
| ESSB 5998 Operating budget, supp. House, Mar 12, 2026 | Nay | 57 |
| ESSB 5998 Operating budget, supp. House, Feb 28, 2026 | Nay | 57 |
| E2SSB 5284 Solid waste management House, Apr 14, 2025 | Nay | 52 |
| SSB 5195 Capital budget House, Apr 27, 2025 | Yea | 50 |
| ESSB 6346 Tax on millionaires House, Mar 9, 2026 | Nay | 46 |
| EHB 1217 Residential tenants House, Apr 27, 2025 | Nay | 42 |
| EHB 1217 Residential tenants House, Mar 10, 2025 | Excused | 42 |
| ESHB 2081 Business and occupation tax House, Apr 22, 2025 | Nay | 38 |
| ESHB 2081 Business and occupation tax House, Apr 22, 2025 | Nay | 38 |
| ESSB 5814 Excise taxes House, Apr 23, 2025 | Nay | 34 |
| E2SSB 5981 340B drug pricing program House, Mar 6, 2026 | Yea | 30 |
| ESSB 5041 Unemp ins/strikes & lockouts House, Apr 25, 2025 | Nay | 28 |
| ESSB 5041 Unemp ins/strikes & lockouts House, Apr 12, 2025 | Nay | 28 |
| SSB 6003 Capital budget, supplemental House, Mar 12, 2026 | Yea | 25 |
| 2SHB 2105 Immigrant workers House, Mar 11, 2026 | Nay | 24 |
| 2SHB 2105 Immigrant workers House, Feb 13, 2026 | Nay | 24 |
| E2SHB 1903 Low-income energy assistance House, Mar 11, 2026 | Nay | 23 |
| ESHB 2266 Supportive & emerg. housing House, Mar 9, 2026 | Nay | 23 |
| ESHB 2266 Supportive & emerg. housing House, Feb 16, 2026 | Nay | 23 |
| E2SHB 1903 Low-income energy assistance House, Feb 14, 2026 | Nay | 23 |
| ESSB 5794 Tax preferences House, Apr 23, 2025 | Nay | 22 |
| ESHB 1155 Noncompetition agreements House, Mar 9, 2026 | Nay | 20 |
| ESSB 6002 Driver privacy House, Mar 5, 2026 | Yea | 20 |
Lobbyist-paid meals and events 18
Where a lobbyist's monthly report lists them among the people a lobbyist or employer paid for. A dinner several employers split appears once for each employer. Shares are shown when the report states them.
| Date | Paid by | Occasion | Their share |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-02-19 | WA REFUSE & RECYCLING ASSN reported by CHRISTOPHERSEN INC | WRRA LEGISLATIVE RECEPTION · Columbia Room | not stated |
| 2026-01-27 | WA ST COUNCIL OF FIRE FIGHTERS reported by DENNIS J LAWSON | WSCFF Legislative Reception · Nicole's Bar, 109 Legion Way, Olympia WA | not stated |
| 2026-01-22 | BOEING reported by Ryan R. Tomasich | Boeing sponsored Aerospace Futures Alliance Reception · Boeing Olympia House, Olympia, WA | not stated |
| 2026-01-21 | WA FEDERATION OF STATE EMPLOYEES reported by DENNIS EAGLE | WFSE Legislative Reception · The Heritage Room by Octapas - 604 Water St SW, Olympia, WA 98501 | $58.43 |
| 2026-01-20 | ASSN OF WA SPIRITS & WINE DISTRIBUTORS reported by CHRISTOPHERSEN INC | AWSWD Legislative Reception · Jean-Pierre's three16 | not stated |
| 2026-01-12 | BMcConsulting reported by BMcConsulting | Legislative Reception · 1889 Prime Steakhouse Olympia, WA | not stated |
| 2026-01-12 | DOTY & ASSOC INC reported by DOTY & ASSOC INC | Legislative reception · 1889 Prime Steakhouse, Olympia, WA | not stated |
| 2025-02-20 | WA ST COUNCIL OF POLICE & SHERIFFS reported by Teresa Taylor | Legislative Reception · Capitol Events Center | not stated |
| 2025-02-19 | ASSN OF WA CITIES reported by CANDICE N BOCK | AWC City Action Days Reception · Saint Martin's University | not stated |
| 2025-02-18 | WA POTATO & ONION ASSN reported by GORDON THOMAS HONEYWELL GOV AFFAIRS | Legislative Reception · Anthony's Homeport - Olympia, WA | not stated |
| 2025-02-12 | WA ST FARM BUREAU reported by Caleb Gwerder | Boots on the Hill Event - Members and entire legislature invited. · The Castle | not stated |
| 2025-02-05 | WA ST COUNCIL OF FIRE FIGHTERS reported by DENNIS J LAWSON | Legislative Conference Reception · Capital Event Center, ESD 113, 6005 Tyee Drive SW, Tumwater, WA 98512 | not stated |
| 2025-02-03 | PACIFIC COAST SHELLFISH GROWERS ASSN reported by GORDON THOMAS HONEYWELL GOV AFFAIRS | Legislative Reception · Chelsea Farm Oyster Bar - Olympia, WA | not stated |
| 2025-01-13 | MCBRIDE PUBLIC AFFAIRS LLC reported by MCBRIDE PUBLIC AFFAIRS LLC | Opening Day Reception · 1889 Prime Steakhouse, 406 5th Ave SW, Olympia WA | $63.53 |
| 2024-06-27 | K.A. Clauson, Inc. reported by K.A. Clauson, Inc. | Fundraiser for SRCC/HROC hosted by Broadband Communications Association of WA · Clubhouse at Barbee Mill (Renton, WA) | $11.22 |
| 2024-01-30 | WA ST FARM BUREAU reported by Caleb Gwerder | Legislative Reception w/ Farm Bureau Members · Olympia, WA | not stated |
| 2024-01-18 | WA ASSN OF REALTORS reported by Mary Hull-Drury | Legislative Reception · Washinton Realtors Office | not stated |
| 2024-01-15 | WA ASSN OF WHEAT GROWERS reported by GORDON THOMAS HONEYWELL GOV AFFAIRS | Legislative Day Reception · Anthony's HomePort - Olympia | not stated |
Who reported lobbying them
Employers whose lobbyists named them in a monthly report's lobbying, with the bills reported.
| Employer | Reports | Bills |
|---|---|---|
| Habitat for Humanity-Spokane latest 2026-03 | 2 | HB 1717, HB 1974 |
| Vantage Data Centers latest 2024-11 | 1 | none named |
| STATEWIDE POVERTY ACTION NETWORK latest 2025-10 | 1 | none named |
| SAVE THE CHILDREN ACTION NETWORK latest 2025-02 | 1 | HB 1404, SB 5352 |
| OneRedmond latest 2026-02 | 1 | HB 2100, HB 2257, HB 2278, HB 2325, HB 2418, SB 6209 |
| NoaNet latest 2024-09 | 1 | none named |
| INDEPENDENT COLLEGES OF WASHINGTON latest 2025-01 | 1 | none named |
| BROTHERHOOD OF LOCOMOTIVE ENGINEERS & TRAINMEN latest 2025-02 | 1 | none named |
| AMERIPEN latest 2025-04 | 1 | SB 5284 |
Campaign money: County Treasurer, 2026
Individuals $280
How it was spent
| Top contributors | Type | Total |
|---|---|---|
| MISCELLANEOUS RECEIPTS | Individuals | $280.15 |
Raised and spent are the PDC's totals for this candidacy; the breakdowns are from its itemized contributions and expenditures · the PDC's page
Campaign money: County Treasurer, 2025
Businesses $13,700 · PACs $12,300 · Unions $2,400 · Individuals $929 · Parties $500 · Other (incl. small contributions) $100
How it was spent
| Top contributors | Type | Total |
|---|---|---|
| Credit Union Legislative Action Fund Seatac | PACs | $2,400 |
| WA Beverage Association PAC Olympia | PACs | $1,200 |
| WFSE Olympia | Unions | $1,200 |
| Washington Association of Realtors Olympia | PACs | $1,200 |
| Avista Corp Spokane | Businesses | $1,200 |
| Broadband Communications Association of Washington Renton | PACs | $1,200 |
| Delta Dental Seattle | Businesses | $1,200 |
| Kaiser Aluminum Franklin | Businesses | $1,200 |
| Build East PAC Spokane | PACs | $1,200 |
| Puget Sound Energy Bellevue | Businesses | $1,200 |
| Washington State Auto Dealers PAC Rento | PACs | $1,200 |
| DoorDash Inc. San Francisco | Businesses | $1,200 |
| Washington State Dental PAC Seattle | PACs | $1,200 |
| BECU Seattle | Businesses | $1,200 |
| Point Digital Finance Inc. Palo Alto | Businesses | $1,200 |
Raised and spent are the PDC's totals for this candidacy; the breakdowns are from its itemized contributions and expenditures · the PDC's page
Campaign money: State Representative, 2024
PACs $47,550 · Businesses $45,738 · Unions $6,000 · Individuals $3,623 · Parties $500 · Other (incl. small contributions) $412
How it was spent
| Top contributors | Type | Total |
|---|---|---|
| USAA San Antonio | Businesses | $2,400 |
| Muckleshoot Indian Tribe Auburn Wa 98092 | PACs | $2,400 |
| Washington State Auto Dealers PAC Rento | PACs | $2,400 |
| Delta Dental Seattle | Businesses | $2,400 |
| Washington Indian Gaming Association Olympia | Businesses | $2,400 |
| Washington Hospitality Assoc. Olympia | PACs | $2,400 |
| Avista Corp Spokane | Businesses | $2,400 |
| Pudget Sound NECA Shoreline | PACs | $2,400 |
| Kaiser Aluminum Franklin | Businesses | $2,400 |
| Build East PAC Spokane | PACs | $2,400 |
| Puget Sound Energy Bellevue | Businesses | $2,400 |
| BSNF Railway Company Fort Worth | Businesses | $2,400 |
| WASHBANK Pac Seattle | PACs | $2,400 |
| Washington Affordable Housing Council Olympia | Businesses | $2,400 |
| STCU Spokane | Businesses | $2,400 |
Raised and spent are the PDC's totals for this candidacy; the breakdowns are from its itemized contributions and expenditures · the PDC's page