People › State House
Melanie Morgan
Data last updated: F-1 statements filed through Oct 13, 2026 · contributions through Oct 14, 2026 · lobbyist reports through Sep 30, 2026 (read Oct 14, 2026)
State Representative, Legislative District 29, Position 1
Running in 2026: State Representative, District 29, Position 1 (In the general)
Statements of financial affairs (F-1)
| Period | Filed | What it lists |
|---|---|---|
| 2025-01-01 – 2025-12-31 State Representative, Legislative District 29 | 2026-03-30 | 1 income, 1 businesses, 1 real estate, 2 creditors |
| 2024-01-01 – 2025-01-04 State Representative, Legislative District 29 | 2025-04-13 | 1 income, 1 accounts, 1 businesses, 1 real estate, 3 creditors |
Findings
None.
In the Legislature
Bills they introduced as prime sponsor 15
| EHB 1874 Textured hair training 2025-26 | Law (C 194 L 25) |
| EHB 1941 Agricultural coops/cannabis 2025-26 | Law (C 218 L 26) |
| HB 1940 Cannabis industry 2025-26 | By resolution, reintroduced and retained in present status. |
| HB 2037 Cannabis 2025-26 | By resolution, reintroduced and retained in present status. |
| SHB 1932 Cannabis consumption 2025-26 | Referred to Appropriations. |
| HB 2639 Complimentary cannabis 2025-26 | First reading, referred to Consumer Protection & Business. |
| HB 2666 African American studies 2025-26 | First reading, referred to Education. |
| HB 1020 State dinosaur 2023-24 | Law (C 330 L 23) |
| SHB 2336 Suitability of lands 2023-24 | Referred to Capital Budget. |
| 2SHB 2270 Department of housing 2023-24 | By resolution, returned to House Rules Committee for third reading. |
| HB 1603 Agricultural products promo. 2023-24 | By resolution, reintroduced and retained in present status. |
| HB 1737 Reconciliation account 2023-24 | House Rules "X" file. |
| SHB 1822 Cannabis/short-term rentals 2023-24 | House Rules "X" file. |
| HB 2282 African American studies 2023-24 | First reading, referred to Education. |
| HB 2461 Organic agriculture 2023-24 | First reading, referred to Agriculture and Natural Resources. |
Final passage votes on the most-lobbied bills
| Bill | Vote | Lobbying employers |
|---|---|---|
| ESSB 5167 Operating budget House, Apr 27, 2025 | Excused | 93 |
| ESSB 5167 Operating budget House, Mar 31, 2025 | Yea | 93 |
| ESSB 5998 Operating budget, supp. House, Mar 12, 2026 | Yea | 57 |
| ESSB 5998 Operating budget, supp. House, Feb 28, 2026 | Yea | 57 |
| E2SSB 5284 Solid waste management House, Apr 14, 2025 | Nay | 52 |
| SSB 5195 Capital budget House, Apr 27, 2025 | Yea | 50 |
| ESSB 6346 Tax on millionaires House, Mar 9, 2026 | Nay | 46 |
| EHB 1217 Residential tenants House, Apr 27, 2025 | Yea | 42 |
| EHB 1217 Residential tenants House, Mar 10, 2025 | Yea | 42 |
| ESHB 2081 Business and occupation tax House, Apr 22, 2025 | Yea | 38 |
| ESHB 2081 Business and occupation tax House, Apr 22, 2025 | Yea | 38 |
| ESSB 5814 Excise taxes House, Apr 23, 2025 | Yea | 34 |
| E2SSB 5981 340B drug pricing program House, Mar 6, 2026 | Yea | 30 |
| ESSB 5041 Unemp ins/strikes & lockouts House, Apr 25, 2025 | Excused | 28 |
| ESSB 5041 Unemp ins/strikes & lockouts House, Apr 12, 2025 | Yea | 28 |
| SSB 6003 Capital budget, supplemental House, Mar 12, 2026 | Yea | 25 |
| 2SHB 2105 Immigrant workers House, Mar 11, 2026 | Yea | 24 |
| 2SHB 2105 Immigrant workers House, Feb 13, 2026 | Yea | 24 |
| E2SHB 1903 Low-income energy assistance House, Mar 11, 2026 | Yea | 23 |
| ESHB 2266 Supportive & emerg. housing House, Mar 9, 2026 | Yea | 23 |
| ESHB 2266 Supportive & emerg. housing House, Feb 16, 2026 | Yea | 23 |
| E2SHB 1903 Low-income energy assistance House, Feb 14, 2026 | Yea | 23 |
| ESSB 5794 Tax preferences House, Apr 23, 2025 | Yea | 22 |
| ESHB 1155 Noncompetition agreements House, Mar 9, 2026 | Yea | 20 |
| ESSB 6002 Driver privacy House, Mar 5, 2026 | Yea | 20 |
Lobbyist-paid meals and events 12
Where a lobbyist's monthly report lists them among the people a lobbyist or employer paid for. A dinner several employers split appears once for each employer. Shares are shown when the report states them.
| Date | Paid by | Occasion | Their share |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-07-14 | WA ASSN OF WHEAT GROWERS reported by GORDON THOMAS HONEYWELL GOV AFFAIRS | Agricultural Tour · Tri-Cities, WA | not stated |
| 2026-07-14 | WA ST POTATO COMMISSION reported by GORDON THOMAS HONEYWELL GOV AFFAIRS | Agriculture Tour · Tri-Cities, WA | not stated |
| 2026-03-02 | BOSWELL CONSULTING reported by BOSWELL CONSULTING | Dinner · Olympia, WA | paid own |
| 2026-02-24 | WASHINGTON RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION reported by SHERI NELSON | WRECA Reception/lunch · INB 140 | not stated |
| 2026-02-02 | WA POTATO & ONION ASSN reported by GORDON THOMAS HONEYWELL GOV AFFAIRS | Legislative Reception · Anthony's Homeport - Olympia, WA | not stated |
| 2026-01-19 | WA ASSN OF WHEAT GROWERS reported by GORDON THOMAS HONEYWELL GOV AFFAIRS | Legislative Reception · Anthony's Homeport - Olympia, WA | not stated |
| 2026-01-12 | BMcConsulting reported by BMcConsulting | Legislative Reception · 1889 Prime Steakhouse Olympia, WA | not stated |
| 2026-01-12 | DOTY & ASSOC INC reported by DOTY & ASSOC INC | Legislative reception · 1889 Prime Steakhouse, Olympia, WA | not stated |
| 2025-08-04 | AMAZON.COM SERVICES LLC reported by Guy Palumbo | NCSL Reception · 100 Legends Way, Boston, MA 02114 | not stated |
| 2025-02-05 | WA ST COUNCIL OF FIRE FIGHTERS reported by DENNIS J LAWSON | Legislative Conference Reception · Capital Event Center, ESD 113, 6005 Tyee Drive SW, Tumwater, WA 98512 | not stated |
| 2025-01-28 | WA BEVERAGE ASSN reported by BOSWELL CONSULTING | Dinner · Pints & Quarts | not stated |
| 2024-11-07 | NIPPC - Northwest & Intermountain Power Producers Coalition reported by CHRISTOPHERSEN INC | NIPPC Tour - Hotel Room, Meals, Shuttle · NIPPC Sites | not stated |
Who reported lobbying them
Employers whose lobbyists named them in a monthly report's lobbying, with the bills reported.
| Employer | Reports | Bills |
|---|---|---|
| FAITH ACTION NETWORK latest 2025-04 | 3 | HB 1217, HB 2027 |
| ASSOC STUDENTS OF WA ST UNIVERSITY latest 2026-03 | 3 | HB 1343, HB 1873, HB 2098, HB 2612, SB 5886, SB 6041, SB 6227, SB 6276, SSB 5886 |
| AMERICAN CANCER SOCIETY CANCER ACTION NETWORK latest 2026-09 | 3 | HB 2382, SB 5998, SB 6129 |
| ONEAMERICA latest 2026-03 | 2 | HB 1710, HB 1750, SB 5925 |
| WA ST SCHOOL RETIREES ASSN latest 2026-01 | 1 | HB 1474 |
| The Arc of King County latest 2025-04 | 1 | SB 5393 |
| SERVICE EMPLOYEES INTL UNION LOCAL 6 latest 2026-01 | 1 | HB 2422, HB 2524 |
| REGENCE BLUE SHIELD latest 2026-09 | 1 | none named |
| NATL MULTIPLE SCLEROSIS SOCIETY GREATER NW CHAPTER latest 2026-03 | 1 | SB 5993 |
| MULTICARE HEALTH SYSTEM latest 2024-10 | 1 | none named |
| FairVote Washington latest 2026-02 | 1 | HB 2210 |
| Evergreen Forest Stewards latest 2025-09 | 1 | none named |
| Children's Alliance latest 2026-01 | 1 | HB 1834 |
| BUILDING INDUSTRY ASSN OF WA latest 2025-09 | 1 | none named |
| ANHEUSER-BUSCH COMPANIES INC latest 2025-10 | 1 | none named |
| AMERIPEN latest 2025-04 | 1 | SB 5284 |
| AMERICAN HEART ASSN latest 2025-02 | 1 | HB 1203 |
| AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION OF WA latest 2025-08 | 1 | none named |
Where their 2026 money comes from
IndividualsBusinessesTrade, professional and issue groupsLabor unionsTribal governmentsPolitical partiesOther candidates and officeholdersTheir own money
Contributions to their 2026 campaign by kind of donor (how kinds are read).
Campaign money: State Representative, 2026
PACs $48,200 · Individuals $43,868 · Businesses $28,600 · Other (incl. small contributions) $3,023 · Unions $2,200 · Parties $800 · Caucuses $109
How it was spent
| Top contributors | Type | Total |
|---|---|---|
| MISCELLANEOUS RECEIPTS Spanaway | Individuals | $18,467.24 |
| WA Refuse & Recycling Assn Lacey | PACs | $2,400 |
| WA CannaBusiness Assn Kirkland | PACs | $2,400 |
| WA Beverage Assn Olympia | PACs | $2,400 |
| Anheuser-Busch Van Nuys | Businesses | $2,400 |
| WA Beer & Wine Distributors Assn Olympia | PACs | $2,400 |
| Reynolds American Inc Winston-Salem | Businesses | $2,400 |
| Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation Nespelem | PACs | $2,400 |
| Hampton Lumber Portland | Businesses | $2,400 |
| WA State Auto Dealers PAC Renton | PACs | $2,400 |
| Hoffman Marco Evergreen Herbal · Los Angles | Individuals | $2,400 |
| WA Bankers Assn Seattle | PACs | $2,400 |
| WA Wheat PAC Ritzville | PACs | $2,400 |
| Tulalip Tribes of WA Tulalip | PACs | $2,400 |
| Port Blakely US Forestry Tumwater | Businesses | $2,400 |
Raised and spent are the PDC's totals for this candidacy; the breakdowns are from its itemized contributions and expenditures · the PDC's page
Campaign money: State Representative, 2024
PACs $47,250 · Businesses $36,550 · Individuals $21,687 · Unions $10,500 · Other (incl. small contributions) $4,203 · Parties $1,198 · Caucuses $157 · Their own money $50
How it was spent
| Top contributors | Type | Total |
|---|---|---|
| Muckleshoot Indian Tribe Auburn | PACs | $2,400 |
| WA Forest Protection Assn Olympia | PACs | $2,400 |
| Anheuser Busch Van Nuys | Businesses | $2,400 |
| WA Refuse & Recycling Assn Lacey | PACs | $2,400 |
| WA Beverage Assn Olympia | PACs | $2,400 |
| Justice for All PAC Seattle | PACs | $2,400 |
| WA Beer & Wine Distributors Assn Olympia | PACs | $2,400 |
| Regence Seattle | Businesses | $2,400 |
| Puget Sound Pilots PAC Seattle | PACs | $2,400 |
| WA Education Assn Federal Way | PACs | $2,400 |
| WA Bankers Assn Seattle | PACs | $2,400 |
| WA Hospitality Assn Olympia | PACs | $2,400 |
| WA CannaBusiness Assn Kirkland | PACs | $2,400 |
| Credit Union Legislative Action Fund Seatac | PACs | $2,400 |
| Maverick Gaming Tumwater | Businesses | $2,400 |
Raised and spent are the PDC's totals for this candidacy; the breakdowns are from its itemized contributions and expenditures · the PDC's page