People › State House
John Ley
Data last updated: F-1 statements filed through Oct 13, 2026 · contributions through Oct 14, 2026 · lobbyist reports through Sep 30, 2026 (read Oct 14, 2026)
State Representative, Legislative District 18, Position 2
Running in 2026: State Representative, District 18, Position 2 (In the general)
Statements of financial affairs (F-1)
| Period | Filed | What it lists |
|---|---|---|
| 2025-01-01 – 2026-03-20 State Representative, Legislative District 18 | 2026-03-22 | 5 income, 21 accounts, 3 businesses, 1 real estate |
| 2024-01-13 – 2025-01-12 State Representative, Legislative District 18 | 2025-03-30 | 3 income, 21 accounts, 3 businesses, 1 real estate |
| 2023-05-10 – 2024-05-09 Candidate for State Representative, Legislative District 18 | 2024-05-23 | 3 income, 21 accounts, 3 businesses, 1 real estate |
Findings
None.
In the Legislature
Bills they introduced as prime sponsor 13
| HB 2226 PTBA governing bodies 2025-26 | First reading, referred to Local Government. |
| HB 1559 I-5 Columbia river tolls 2025-26 | By resolution, reintroduced and retained in present status. |
| SHB 1857 Asbestos building materials 2025-26 | Referred to Environment & Energy. |
| HB 2605 Fibrous silicate materials 2025-26 | By resolution, returned to House Rules Committee for third reading. |
| HB 1869 Transit costs/adjacent state 2025-26 | By resolution, reintroduced and retained in present status. |
| HB 2030 Interstate bridge/financial 2025-26 | By resolution, reintroduced and retained in present status. |
| HB 2143 Transp. district boards 2025-26 | First reading, referred to Local Government. |
| HB 2180 Coaches of youth sports 2025-26 | First reading, referred to Early Learning & Human Services. |
| HB 2592 Aircraft fuel tax proceeds 2025-26 | Referred to Appropriations. |
| HB 2603 Vehicle transfers on death 2025-26 | First reading, referred to Civil Rights & Judiciary. |
| HB 2669 I-5 bridge performance audit 2025-26 | First reading, referred to Transportation. |
| HB 2670 Gross misdemeanor penalties 2025-26 | First reading, referred to Community Safety. |
| HB 2710 I-5 bridge contract approval 2025-26 | First reading, referred to Transportation. |
Final passage votes on the most-lobbied bills
| Bill | Vote | Lobbying employers |
|---|---|---|
| ESSB 5167 Operating budget House, Apr 27, 2025 | Nay | 93 |
| ESSB 5167 Operating budget House, Mar 31, 2025 | Nay | 93 |
| ESSB 5998 Operating budget, supp. House, Mar 12, 2026 | Nay | 57 |
| ESSB 5998 Operating budget, supp. House, Feb 28, 2026 | Nay | 57 |
| E2SSB 5284 Solid waste management House, Apr 14, 2025 | Nay | 52 |
| SSB 5195 Capital budget House, Apr 27, 2025 | Yea | 50 |
| ESSB 6346 Tax on millionaires House, Mar 9, 2026 | Nay | 46 |
| EHB 1217 Residential tenants House, Apr 27, 2025 | Nay | 42 |
| EHB 1217 Residential tenants House, Mar 10, 2025 | Nay | 42 |
| ESHB 2081 Business and occupation tax House, Apr 22, 2025 | Nay | 38 |
| ESHB 2081 Business and occupation tax House, Apr 22, 2025 | Nay | 38 |
| ESSB 5814 Excise taxes House, Apr 23, 2025 | Nay | 34 |
| E2SSB 5981 340B drug pricing program House, Mar 6, 2026 | Nay | 30 |
| ESSB 5041 Unemp ins/strikes & lockouts House, Apr 25, 2025 | Nay | 28 |
| ESSB 5041 Unemp ins/strikes & lockouts House, Apr 12, 2025 | Nay | 28 |
| SSB 6003 Capital budget, supplemental House, Mar 12, 2026 | Yea | 25 |
| 2SHB 2105 Immigrant workers House, Mar 11, 2026 | Nay | 24 |
| 2SHB 2105 Immigrant workers House, Feb 13, 2026 | Nay | 24 |
| E2SHB 1903 Low-income energy assistance House, Mar 11, 2026 | Yea | 23 |
| ESHB 2266 Supportive & emerg. housing House, Mar 9, 2026 | Nay | 23 |
| ESHB 2266 Supportive & emerg. housing House, Feb 16, 2026 | Nay | 23 |
| E2SHB 1903 Low-income energy assistance House, Feb 14, 2026 | Nay | 23 |
| ESSB 5794 Tax preferences House, Apr 23, 2025 | Nay | 22 |
| ESHB 1155 Noncompetition agreements House, Mar 9, 2026 | Nay | 20 |
| ESSB 6002 Driver privacy House, Mar 5, 2026 | Yea | 20 |
Lobbyist-paid meals and events 19
Where a lobbyist's monthly report lists them among the people a lobbyist or employer paid for. A dinner several employers split appears once for each employer. Shares are shown when the report states them.
| Date | Paid by | Occasion | Their share |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-02-02 | WA POTATO & ONION ASSN reported by GORDON THOMAS HONEYWELL GOV AFFAIRS | Legislative Reception · Anthony's Homeport - Olympia, WA | not stated |
| 2026-01-29 | WA ASSN OF REALTORS reported by Mary Hull-Drury | Legislative Reception · Washington Realtors Office | not stated |
| 2026-01-12 | BMcConsulting reported by BMcConsulting | Legislative Reception · 1889 Prime Steakhouse Olympia, WA | not stated |
| 2026-01-12 | DOTY & ASSOC INC reported by DOTY & ASSOC INC | Legislative reception · 1889 Prime Steakhouse, Olympia, WA | not stated |
| 2025-08-27 | PACIFIC COAST SHELLFISH GROWERS ASSN reported by GORDON THOMAS HONEYWELL GOV AFFAIRS | Savor the Land Agricultural Tour · Skagit Valley | not stated |
| 2025-08-27 | TAYLOR SHELLFISH CO INC reported by WILLIAM F DEWEY | Educational tour of shellfish farming in Samish Bay as part of the Savor the Land tour followed by lunch provided by Taylor Shellfish and the Pacific Coast Shellfish Growers Association · 2182 Chuckanut Drive, Bow, WA | not stated |
| 2025-08-27 | WA ASSN OF WHEAT GROWERS reported by GORDON THOMAS HONEYWELL GOV AFFAIRS | Savor the Land Agricultural Tour · Skagit Valley | not stated |
| 2025-08-27 | WA ST POTATO COMMISSION reported by GORDON THOMAS HONEYWELL GOV AFFAIRS | Savor the Land Agricultural Tour · Skagit Valley | not stated |
| 2025-03-31 | TECHNOLOGY NETWORK reported by CHRISTOPHERSEN INC | TechNet Reception · Olympia, WA | not stated |
| 2025-03-24 | ENERGY NORTHWEST reported by DAVID C ARBAUGH | Legislative Nuclear Energy Caucus · Vic's Pizzeria Wildwood - JAC211 Capitol Campus | $4.65 |
| 2025-03-17 | ENERGY NORTHWEST reported by DAVID C ARBAUGH | Legislative Nuclear Energy Caucus · Vic's Pizzeria Wildwood - JAC211 Capitol Campus | $4.58 |
| 2025-02-20 | WA ST COUNCIL OF POLICE & SHERIFFS reported by Teresa Taylor | Legislative Reception · Capitol Events Center | not stated |
| 2025-02-18 | WA POTATO & ONION ASSN reported by GORDON THOMAS HONEYWELL GOV AFFAIRS | Legislative Reception · Anthony's Homeport - Olympia, WA | not stated |
| 2025-02-05 | WA ST COUNCIL OF FIRE FIGHTERS reported by DENNIS J LAWSON | Legislative Conference Reception · Capital Event Center, ESD 113, 6005 Tyee Drive SW, Tumwater, WA 98512 | not stated |
| 2025-01-27 | City of Battle Ground reported by GORDON THOMAS HONEYWELL GOV AFFAIRS | Dinner · Anthony's Homeport - Olympia, WA | $81.55 |
| 2025-01-20 | WA ASSN OF WHEAT GROWERS reported by GORDON THOMAS HONEYWELL GOV AFFAIRS | Legislative Reception · Anthony's Homeport - Olympia, WA | not stated |
| 2025-01-16 | ASSN OF WA SPIRITS & WINE DISTRIBUTORS reported by CHRISTOPHERSEN INC | AWSWD Lobby Day Evening Reception · John Pierre's Three16 | not stated |
| 2025-01-16 | ASSN OF WA SPIRITS & WINE DISTRIBUTORS reported by CHRISTOPHERSEN INC | AWSWD Lobby Day Open House · Olympia, WA | not stated |
| 2025-01-13 | MCBRIDE PUBLIC AFFAIRS LLC reported by MCBRIDE PUBLIC AFFAIRS LLC | Opening Day Reception · 1889 Prime Steakhouse, 406 5th Ave SW, Olympia WA | $63.53 |
Who reported lobbying them
Employers whose lobbyists named them in a monthly report's lobbying, with the bills reported.
| Employer | Reports | Bills |
|---|---|---|
| COUNCIL FOR THE HOMELESS latest 2025-04 | 3 | EHB 1217, EHB 1491, ESSB 5148, ESSB 5313, ESSB 5576, HB 1075, HB 1177, HB 1198, HB 1217, HB 1380, HB 1491, HB 1494 and 10 more |
| REGIONAL FISHERIES ENHANCEMENT GROUP COALITION latest 2025-08 | 2 | HB 1208, SB 5155 |
| Quaker Voice on Washington Public Policy latest 2026-01 | 2 | HB 1166, HB 1217, HB 1278, HB 1894, HB 2100, HB 2489, SB 5233, SJM 8004 |
| Columbia River Mental Health Services latest 2025-03 | 2 | HB 1034, HB 1123, HB 1124, HB 1392, HB 1430, HB 1432, HB 1502, HB 1581, SB 5019, SB 5083, SB 5112, SB 5242 and 2 more |
| Clark Regional Wastewater District latest 2026-02 | 2 | SB 5033 |
| City of Battle Ground latest 2026-02 | 2 | none named |
| YWCA Clark County latest 2026-01 | 1 | none named |
| Washington Trails Association latest 2025-03 | 1 | none named |
| WA STATE ASSN OF COUNTIES (WSAC) latest 2025-08 | 1 | none named |
| WA CHARTERS ACTION latest 2026-01 | 1 | HB 2519 |
| Spark Northwest latest 2025-07 | 1 | none named |
| Sierra Pacific Industries latest 2025-12 | 1 | none named |
| RENEWABLE NORTHWEST latest 2026-01 | 1 | HB 1819, HB 1960, SB 5466 |
| PUGET SOUND KEEPER ALLIANCE latest 2026-02 | 1 | HB 1607, HB 1903, HB 2421, HB 2515, SB 5360, SB 5965 |
| PUGET SOUND ENERGY INC latest 2025-12 | 1 | none named |
| FREEZER LONGLINE COALITION latest 2026-02 | 1 | SB 6346 |
| Discovery Clean Water Alliance latest 2024-12 | 1 | none named |
| CLARK COUNTY latest 2025-10 | 1 | none named |
| BUILDING INDUSTRY ASSN OF WA latest 2024-12 | 1 | none named |
| ASSOCIATED GENERAL CONTRACTORS OF WA latest 2025-03 | 1 | none named |
| AMERIPEN latest 2025-04 | 1 | SB 5284 |
Where their 2026 money comes from
IndividualsBusinessesTrade, professional and issue groupsLabor unionsTribal governmentsPolitical partiesOther candidates and officeholdersTheir own money
Contributions to their 2026 campaign by kind of donor (how kinds are read).
Campaign money: State Representative, 2026
Caucuses $81,000 · PACs $47,200 · Businesses $24,800 · Individuals $9,050 · Other (incl. small contributions) $1,635
How it was spent
| Top contributors | Type | Total |
|---|---|---|
| HROC Olympia | Caucuses | $56,000 |
| Senate Republican Campaign Committee Olympia | Caucuses | $25,000 |
| Altria Sacramento | Businesses | $2,400 |
| Washington Hospitality Assn Olympia | PACs | $2,400 |
| Sabey Seattle | Businesses | $2,400 |
| Delta Dental Seattle | PACs | $2,400 |
| Washington Association of Realtors Olympia | PACs | $2,400 |
| Washington Collectors Association Spokane | PACs | $2,400 |
| Evergreen Leadership Fund Snohomish | PACs | $2,400 |
| Washington Multi Family Housing Assoc PAC Renton | PACs | $2,400 |
| Associated General Contractors of Washington Seattle | PACs | $2,400 |
| Washington Affordable Housing Council Tumwater | PACs | $2,400 |
| Veach Eric Bellevue | Individuals | $2,400 |
| Washington Food Industry Association Olympia | PACs | $2,400 |
| Premera Seattle | Businesses | $2,400 |
Raised and spent are the PDC's totals for this candidacy; the breakdowns are from its itemized contributions and expenditures · the PDC's page
Campaign money: State Representative, 2024
Their own money $7,350 · Individuals $6,185 · Caucuses $5,000 · Parties $2,000 · Other (incl. small contributions) $1,300
How it was spent
| Top contributors | Type | Total |
|---|---|---|
| JOHN P LEY | Their own money | $7,350.45 |
| HROC Olympia | Caucuses | $5,000 |
| Clark County Republican Party Vancouver | Parties | $2,000 |
| Tapani Kevin Tapani · Battle Ground | Individuals | $1,200 |
| Messmore Michael Toledo | Individuals | $1,000 |
| Halsor Mark AAMI · North Hampton | Individuals | $1,000 |
| B JEREMICA VERNON n/a · Battle Ground | Individuals | $500 |
| Van Eynde Phil Retired · Vancouver | Individuals | $500 |
| Wubben Nicole Self · Ridgefield | Individuals | $350 |
| Clark County Republican Women Camas | Other (incl. small contributions) | $250 |
| Stoelk Eugene Camas | Individuals | $250 |
| Stoelk Karen Camas | Individuals | $250 |
| O'Neill Anne Amboy | Individuals | $250 |
| Noftsker Will Vancouver | Individuals | $200 |
| Leckie Asa Carson | Individuals | $160 |
Raised and spent are the PDC's totals for this candidacy; the breakdowns are from its itemized contributions and expenditures · the PDC's page